Merlin the Wonerdog(1998-2011)

I served as the College of Natural Resources and Sciences Associated Student Representative at Cal Poly Humboldt 2013-2014 where I also worked for the Sustainability department at Plant Operations. I graduated Hemet High School in 2003 where I ran Track & Field, and X-country. I attended Columbia College CA, where I eventually completed my A.A. in 2009... I took the non-traditional route through college taking several years off living in San Diego for a short span then moving to Lake Tahoe where I worked in the ski industry. When I returned to college I had to work full-time and take two classes a semester. When I attended Humboldt I was a full-time student and worked only part time for the Sustainability Department as a student assistant. I choose to attend Humboldt State because they offered a great environmental science program and it is near the ocean. I enjoy the beach where I collect rocks, driftwood, and sea shells to bring back to my family in the mountains. I believe in protecting the environment not only for our children but for all life. I hope to help in a field where I get to participate in protecting the environment while working outside as much as possible.

Major[edit | edit source]

  • BS in Environmental Science, Energy and Climate option from Cal Poly Humboldt Arcata California. May 2015

Interests in Appropriate Technology[edit | edit source]

Other Fun Fact about Me[edit | edit source]

Hobbies[edit | edit source]

I love snowboarding, I taught it for several years but injured myself one two many times. So I decided to go back to school and get a degree and limit the snowboarding to a few times a season. I completed my basic Scuba certification in May 2015 and plan on going diving as much as I can afford to. I also throw a disc around sometimes at metals baskets and enjoy swimming.

Pets[edit | edit source]

I have a dog named Temperance that is 85 lbs. who is currently living with my parents with 4 other dogs, 3 cats, and a couple of bunnies. My first pet as an 'adult' was Merlin, a small 13 lbs. rescued dog that I adopted in San Diego County when he was about 10 yrs old. He was a good dog but did bite a lot. I have several houseplants and a beta fish named Tel'c.

Consumables[edit | edit source]

All my appliances are energy star rated and I turn my power strips off when ever they are not in use. I ride my bicycle as much as possible and do my best to support local economies with my 'very small' purchasing power. I am not into yoga, but I do believe in eating healthy unprocessed food, but that is sometimes hard to do. I am not a big shopper and try to only buy what I need, not what I want, which is easy when I have limited disposable income.

Experience in Appropriate Technology[edit | edit source]

Environmental Department: Squaw Valley CA.[edit | edit source]

  • Wetlands
  • Erosion Control
  • Invasive plant removal
  • Slope/plant Restoration

Sustainability Department: Cal Poly Humboldt CA.[edit | edit source]

  • Recycling
  • E-Waste
  • Composting
  • General Waste Management/Waste Diversion

Live Experience[edit | edit source]

  • Bike repair
  • Sewing and patch work
  • Recycling
  • Thrift Store Shopping
  • Gardening
  • Forest Management
  • Construction

Education[edit | edit source]

  • Natural Conservation
  • Environmental Policy
  • Geography:World Perspectives
  • Engineering: Appropriate Technology, current enrollment
  • Energy: Society and Energy, current enrollment
  • Engineering: Thermodynamics
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.