Oahu
User data
Affiliations Engr370 Energy Technology and Society
Groups Engr305 past students
Registered 2011
Impact Combined page views of this user's contributions to the main namespace. 421
Contributions Waste Stream Diversion Table
Engr370/Energy technologies
Name: Julian

I am a senior at Cal Poly Humboldt. I do not share personal information or photos on the internet due to privacy and intellectual property concerns.

Favorite Appropedia Page(s)[edit | edit source]

Experience and Resources[edit | edit source]

I have the following experience, skills or resources to share with Engr 370:

  • See personal resume. 15 years work experience including corporate, construction, military, management, & educational experience.

Interests in Appropriate Technology[edit | edit source]

I am interested in:

  • Personalizing "my" environment with minimal resource usage.
  • Evaluating and altering how humans use their environment.
  • Examining solutions for everyday problems.

Experience in Appropriate Technology[edit | edit source]

  • Cooking and "domestic" usage. At home installed a garden, compost and water catchment system working on the idea of dew collection.
  • Previous construction, salvage, and demolition diver. We salvaged boats, deepened and widened channels, performed hydro-graphic surveying, pier evaluation and repair,and poured cement foundations for piers. Because diver was a non standard military occupation, a large portion of our gear was more appropriate tech oriented as we found/made/modified and repaired what we needed. You can't buy a patch for a ship 100 years old in unknown condition in an unknown location and position.
  • Repair computer components and other electronics.
  • Various entertainment or experiments. Built and raced a boat made out of cardboard and able to support 3 people.
  • Made a flotation device out of inner tubes, wood, and coolers to ensure security and temperature of beer while floating down the Sacramento River.
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.