Get our free book on rainwater now - To Catch the Rain.

Appropedia:Deletion

From Appropedia
Jump to: navigation, search
This is a proposed Appropedia guideline. You can edit it, or discuss it on the talk page or at the Appropedia policy discussion page.
For now, this should be considered an essay by one or more Appropedians, and not as a policy or guideline.


(Some of the suggestions are temporary measures. Later we may use templates similar to Wikipedia:Template:Db and Wikipedia:Template:Db-reason (once we have ParserFunctions ‎installed, perhaps, to allow optional arguments?)

Deleting your own page[edit]

If you have been working on a page, and then decide it needs to be deleted, check first—do you need to delete it, or just move it? (Click the move tab at the top of the page.) Or create a redirect to another page.

If you want to delete, for now the best way to request a page to be deleted is to replace all the text with just the word DELETE. Then a admin or bot will come along and delete the page.

Proposing the deletion of other people's pages[edit]

It is proposed that we adopt a "good faith deletion process" where pages are moved to userspace and contributors are engaged in discussion, or at the very least given a clear explanation (this can be done by template, even if the admin or user proposing deletion is busy) rather than simply deleting the page.

"Speedy deletion" on Appropedia is only carried out when all the material is clearly spam (i.e. not only commercial, but also with no value to the Appropedia community), vandalism or (more difficult to judge) trolling material, or content which seriously contravenes Appropedia policies, e.g. on civility. If in doubt, the page should be tagged and/or moved to userspace, and a note left for the user.

For now, if you have concerns about a page, contact an Admin via their talk page.

Userfying[edit]

We usually prefer not to delete people's work, even if it's unsuitable for Appropedia's mainspace. A friendlier approach is to "userfy" the pages, i.e. to move the page to A:userspace, as a subpage of the userpage of the main editor.

We may delete the redirect which is created by the move, especially if it's a topic article - this is to prevent someone accidentally landing on an unsuitable page, and not realizing that it might be unsuitable as a regular Appropedia article.

See also[edit]