Get our free book on rainwater now - To Catch the Rain.

Talk:Permaculture

From Appropedia
Jump to: navigation, search

How to add to the map[edit]

how do you add to the Permaculture map? Please add a link with instructions on how to do this. --Uriel 18:24, 15 December 2009 (UTC)

Help:Maps - but that looks a bit confusing. Maybe there are easier instructions somewhere? --Chriswaterguy 05:51, 16 December 2009 (UTC)

Looking at examples that successfully create entries on the map, a good example to follow is:

39.216295, -121.05835, Sierra Permaculture Guild, Sierra Nevada region
http://sierrapermaculture.org/

i.e.

LONGITUDE, LATITUDE, TEXT
URL

...where text is whatever text you want to appear on the map, which should be name (& description if the name isn't self-explanatory) and possibly location.

--Chriswaterguy 15:43, 24 June 2010 (UTC)

Map usage - too confusing?[edit]

I count 12 examples of entries in the map which don't list coordinates (LONGITUDE, LATITUDE as above, e.g. "39.216295, -121.05835") and therefore don't actually appear on the map. For example:

Permatopia
www.permatopia.com

and

Center for the Advancement of Sustainable Living (CASL), U Oregon
http://www.uoregon.edu/~casl/

I'm not sure whether the editors thought they were adding map entries or external links.

If we want to use maps like this on Appropedia, we need to make it clearer somehow. But maybe it will help if I clean out the entries which don't have an entry - so here they are (please feel free to reenter them correctly as map entries or external links, if they are appropriate/valuable links):


Permaculture Guild
www.permacultureguild.us

Sierra Institute, HSU,
www.humboldt.edu/~sierra/

Northwest School of Botanical Studies,
www.herbaleducation.net

Humboldt – Del Norte Counties Cooperative Extension Services,
http://cehumboldt.ucdavis.edu/

Environmental Education Council of Marin
www.eecom.net/

Siskiyou Permaculture Resources Group
http://www.sprg.info

Food Not Lawns
www.foodnotlawns.org

Maitreya Ecovillage,
www.maitreyaecovillage.org/

Permatopia
www.permatopia.com

Center for the Advancement of Sustainable Living (CASL), U Oregon
http://www.uoregon.edu/~casl/

Cob Cottage Company,
www.cobcottage.com

Portland Permaculture Institute
www.portlandpermaculture.com

--Chriswaterguy 15:43, 24 June 2010 (UTC)


(don't know how the format on these discussion pages should be); I suggest several different maps for different regions instead of one global map. Technically, the maps can be exported as KML files and joined together. My reason is that permaculture is about reconnecting to the landbase, and that any permaculturalist's primary interest would be in places he could visit easily overland.


What is meant with "husband soil"?[edit]

I never heard of the term "husband soil".

What is meant with that? comment by Ikem, 29 July 2012‎.

Good question! The term seems to be making a parallel to animal husbandry. So probably something like, "managing soil, including its profile, mineral content and micro- and macrobiotic organisms for human benefit" --Ethan (talk) 20:26, 19 September 2015 (PDT)

broken map[edit]

The map at the bottom is broken. I found:

"Starting with the 4.0 release this extension incorporates all the functionality from the now obsolete Semantic Maps extension."

-> https://www.mediawiki.org/wiki/Extension:Maps

Facilitator (talk) 13:00, 22 August 2017 (PDT)

--- the following is the broken content (moved here until it is fixed) ---

Maps can be used to make us aware of others in our area engaging in similar work and practices. For example, the following map contains sites on the Pacific coast of the USA that are actively demonstrating and applying permaculture and/or allied sites and organizations providing valuable education. This map is not by any means exhaustive, so please add other sites to it as you see fit. Original compilation by Jeffrey M. Adams

Should separate maps be made of other countries and regions, or should this map be used globally?

<display_points type="hybrid" zoom=6 center="Yreka" width=400 height=600> 40.868857, -124.077896|Campus Center for Appropriate Technology (CCAT)|HSU www.humboldt.edu/~ccat 39.007446, -123.369598|Emerald Earth|www.emeraldearth.org 38.967951, -123.145752|Solar Living Institute|www.solarliving.org 39.400122, -123.354492|Ecology Action|http://www.growbiointensive.org/ 40.841866, -124.064484|Arcata Educational Farm CSA|www.humboldt.edu/~farm 40.785741, -124.156494|Redwood Coast Energy Authority|www.redwoodenergy.org 40.099084, -123.796692|Heartwood Institute|www.heartwoodinstitute.com 39.799041, -123.247375|Live Power Community Farm|http://www.livepower.org/ 38.476169, -122.897186|California School of Herbal Studies|www.cshs.com 38.400873, -122.832642|R.I.T.E.S. Project|http://www.ritesproject.org 38.349196, -122.682953|Sonoma State Environmental Technology Center, CA|http://www.sonoma.edu/ensp/etc/ 38.406254, -122.939758|Occidental Arts and Ecology|http://www.oaec.org/ 37.903032, -122.693939|Regenerative Design Institute (Permaculture Institute of N. California) http://www.regenerativedesign.org/ 37.986422, -122.606049|Sustainable Fairfax|www.sustainablefairfax.org 38.326575, -122.706985|Redwood Empire Chapter of US Green Building Council|www.usgbc-rec.org 42.221399, -123.275528|Herb Pharm|www.herb-pharm.com/ 29.459129, -95.0397456IEdible Forest Farmhttp://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=896515065&ref=tn_tnmn 42.187829, -122.703552|Sacred Earth Institute|http://www.sacredearthinstitute.org/index.html 42.311847, -122.974777|Birch Creek Arts and Ecology/ Dakubetede Environmental Education/ Trillium Farm| Siskiyou Mountains, Southern OR http://www.deepwild.org/ 43.794393, -123.058548|Aprovecho|http://www.aprovecho.net/ 43.920153, -122.822342|Lost Valley Education Center|www.lostvalley.org 44.037751, -123.088074|Cascadia Permaculture|www.cascadiapermaculture.com 39.216295, -121.05835|Sierra Permaculture Guild|Sierra Nevada region http://sierrapermaculture.org/ 38.575011, -121.507416|Sacramento Permaculture|http://www.sacpermaculture.com/ 38.246809, -122.637634|Institute for the Study of Noetic Science, S. of Petaluma|http://www.noetic.org/ 38.789416, -122.628021|Harbin Hotsprings|www.harbin.org 38.577158, -122.578583|Avalon Springs|http://www.avalonsprings.org/ 37.753344, -122.601929|Indigenous Permaculture|http://www.indigenous-permaculture.org/ 37.861844, -122.420654|Ecology Center|www.ecologycenter.org 37.766372, -122.091064|Urban Permaculture Guild, SF Bay Area, CA|www.urbanpermacultureguild.org 45.767523, -122.695312|City Repair Project|www.cityrepair.org 47.127615, -123.083267|Fungi Perfecti|www.fungi.com 48.636993, -122.891693|Bullocks Brothers Permaculture Site, Orcas Island, WA|http://www.permacultureportal.com/ 47.062638, -122.904053|Wild Thyme Farm Retreat Center|http://www.sonic.net/~wildfarm/ </display_points>

--- Facilitator (talk)

map discussion[edit]

Unfortunately a couple of things broke during the last update of our installation of MediaWiki. It looks like map support was one of them. At the moment Appropedia is a volunteer-only operation, and we don't have enough people with the knowledge and time to spare to fix the back-end stuff. More help would be greatly appreciated. Ideally, I'd like to see us use OpenStreetMap instead of Google Maps, since that's more in line with our open source approach. More info on how that works

I've been planning to fork the map off into a Permaculture sites article (compare Category:Permaculture sites and Earthship sites). --Ethan (talk) 21:26, 24 August 2017 (PDT)

After researching it a bit, it seems like a quick fix (tho I'm not very experienced in these things). I've informed the other active admins --Ethan (talk) 22:01, 24 August 2017 (PDT)