Appropedia needs your support - Please Donate Today

Hidden animal ingredients

From Appropedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Many foods that seem suitable for vegetarians at first glance actually use animal-derived ingredients or processing agents. In general, many of these unexpected additives are found in highly processed, pre-packaged foods. Even omnivores may want to reconsider some of their food choices based on some of the more surprising ingredients on this list.

Ingredient Used in Alternatives
anchovy some pizza and pasta sauces many restaurants do not use this ingredient
Worcestershire sauce some vegetarian brands, home-made recipes
some salad dressings
bones white sugar refining process. Bone dust is often found in white sugar brown sugar, other sweeteners such as stevia
castoreum raspberry, strawberry or vanilla flavoring. Made from beaver anal glands. May only be listed as "natural flavor"
fish oil most products that advertise added omega-3 on the label some products specify flaxseed-derived omega-3
fish and oyster sauces many dishes in Asian cuisines; especially Thai, Vietnamese, and Korean
gelatin medicine capsules ("gel caps") cellulose, starch or carageenan capsules
gummy candies
marshmallows
gelatin desserts (Jell-o)
ice cream and yoghurt many brands; home-made
brewing process of many beers to reduce cloudiness. Beer makers are not obligated to label their use of gelatin some beer brands are beginning to advertise as vegetarian-suitable
some cosmetics
isinglass brewing process of many beers to reduce cloudiness. Beer makers are not obligated to label their use of isinglass some beer brands are beginning to advertise as vegetarian-suitable
lard refried beans some brands of vegetarian refried beans
some pie crusts, tortillas and other baked goods or baking ingredients
L-cystine amino acid used in prepackaged baked goods. Usually derived from human hair, pig hair or feathers
rennet production of most cheeses various brands
stock (beef, chicken, etc.) many soups, both pre-packaged and in restaurants
sometimes added to rice Mexican cuisine

External links[edit]